Observership Diaries: Day Four

Can you believe I’ve done this four times already. I feel like a pro at this. I even got my hair and make-up for yesterday done in 10 minutes, but today that feeling got the best of me. I got up by 5 AM, prayed, read my bible and even had time to write and edit a whole article. Then, by 7:00 AM, I sluggishly got into the bathroom, once I was out and it was time to get dressed, that overwhelming struggle of not knowing what to wear just came upon me. I spent another 15 minutes searching my wardrobe and feeling like I had  nothing to wear. I had destroyed my entire room when I just settled with a red chiffon shirt and a grey skirt which taught me that I needed some serious life adjustments.

Good news is, I got to the hospital on time, had my usual ‘there are no scrubs dilemma’ and by 8:30 AM, my day was about to begin. I went into the changing room and met my preceptor, who apparently had been given the day off because of her unending cough. She told me “There are a lot of surgeries today, so you can look around and when you’re tired, you can go home”. After wishing her speedy recovery and her footsteps had faded away, I leapt for joy because today, I was going to be a ninja, stealthy and free as the wind.

I looked through the line-up for the day, Theatre One had a long list of neuroanatomy related surgeries. It didn’t seem interesting to me. Theatre two had a patient waiting to have an eye surgery. Theatre three had a tracheotomy, endoscopy and a colonoscopy. Aha! I mean don’t you want to see the insides of your stomach and colon on a coloured screen? I watched the tracheotomy, from start to finish, it was so interesting. I have to say that the surgeon was amazing. He even took out time to explain the entire procedure, the benefits, the older method of tracheotomy and why he doesn’t use that method. Overall, he did a great job and he was friendly enough to explain it till we understood. The endoscopy and colonoscopy were more enjoyable because it didn’t feel like a serious procedure, All you had to do was stick a tube into either the mouth or anus depending on the procedure and navigate it to where you want. I do realize it’s harder than it sounds and requires more expertise than what I just described but he made it look simple. Plus he made some cute jokes about how the body looks.

After watching all three procedures, I decided to go to Theatre One. It had about eight procedures on the list. Ulnar nerve repair, Carpal tunnel syndrome repair, Lipoma suction just to mention a few. I watched the ulnar nerve repair, the guy was awake, they gave only a local anaesthetic after draining all the blood from his forearm using spandex, which is quite interesting considering that’s what women wear to trim their waist. The doctor even made a joke about one of the nurses, saying she only looked like she had a tiny waist because underneath her scrubs, she was wearing spandex. We all laughed, including the patient. It was quite nice to have a patient who wasn’t heavily sedated and unconscious that you could have a conversation with. Once I was done, I went to the ICU to join the students doing rounds. A lot of medical was thrown up and down and I just prayed that my face mask was camouflage enough to hide me.

To end the day, I looked at some X-rays and after diagnosing, I decide it was time to go home. I went to pick my friend up from the maternity ward because I like looking at babies. They’re the best part of the day. Soon enough I was on my way home, having had the most educative day ever, I’d learnt from ENT, Internal medicine, Oby/Gyn, Radiology and Accident and Emergency. As I walked to the nearest bus stop, my feet tired and sore as usual, it hit me. In the end we’re just here to serve others, one way or another.\

Read yesterday’s entry here. Please like and share and come back for more.

2 thoughts on “Observership Diaries: Day Four

Leave a Reply

