Don’t Put All Your Eggs In The College Basket.

Brought to you by a college student.

Take it from me, college isn’t everything. I also do not subscribe to the fallacy of the laptop lifestyle because it’s way more difficult than that. I am the girl who believed in school as a source of security. Β I still believe in college, just not as much.

My curiosity began when I realized that many people could not afford college. I grew up in a low-grade environment. Most kids prayed to finish high school. I was lucky enough to come from a family that could support my education. That didn’t mean it was easy, there were days I was sent home for not paying fees and sometimes I missed classes. However, I was grateful that it was an option in the first place. I remember asking the girl next door what the plan was, since college was out of the question. She said she’d start a business. In my mind, I shook my head thinking that she would probably end up like the people in my street. Boy was I wrong. I don’t know where she is today but I wish I could go back to tell her that she’d be just fine.

For me, education meant extra work. I couldn’t afford to put in average effort as my chances of getting the best education would come only from a scholarship. I had to work extra hard. I was always at the top of my class but my school was also one of the lesser quality schools. This meant that my ‘best in class’ could mean bottom of the class somewhere else. Extra work.

Growing up, I was so playful. I love playing. I couldn’t sit still in class for any reason. I had to focus and no, I don’t have ADHD. I was just excited about life. School was never stressful for me but I always wondered how the other kids who thought different would cope. Fast forward at least 17 years later, I know they should be doing fine, if they want to. School is not the only answer.

jaz-king-221365

Now, I’m in college and it’s not as easy as I thought it would be. I’m not as ‘bright’ as I used to be. I broke down at least thrice in the last two years. I feel like I’m in a race and everyone is leaving me behind. I still believe in not giving up. I like finishing whatever I start. So, no I won’t give up on college. Call me stubborn but that’s just me.

Lately I’ve been feeling out-of-place and scared of everything ahead because I’m so unsure. Most people call me crazy and unfocused for trying anything else other than just Medicine but this is me. I may finish this journey and become a doctor. I may also finish and never use my certificate. I was never forced to do this so I believe I get the choice to change it even though I’m too scared to.

I don’t know. I really don’t. I guess I’m just too chicken. I’m writing this to tell anyone out there who feels like they won’t go far because they can’t afford college that they’ll make it. IF you work hard enough and find something you’re passionate about, you’ll find a way to make money out of it. If you’re in college, whether or not you’re doing well, please do not think it will solve your problems. It’s a tough world out there. If you don’t love what you do, it will drive you crazy.

Treat college for what it is, a place to learn about yourself, not as the answer to your problems.

College is one basket. Don’t put all your EGGS in it.

 

17 thoughts on “Don’t Put All Your Eggs In The College Basket.

  1. I’ve definitely been there where I suddenly realized that I wasn’t the smartest cookie in the jar. However, it was this realization that I found myself pushing to be better, pushing to do better. Sure, college isn’t everything, but college made me a much stronger and independent person. It gave me experiences that I wouldn’t have had otherwise. That being said, college was a small part of achieving my dream. My advice? Don’t give up on your dreams.

    -GG
    http://www.girlingamba.com

    Like

    1. I definitely see where you’re coming from. I definitely haven’t given up. My article was to encourage those finding it so hard because they’re in the wrong place. That they’ll realize that there are other opportunities waiting for them.

      To those in difficulty, I say NEVER give up! thanks so much for commenting.

      Like

  2. Honestly this hit home with me. I wanted to obtain my doctorate in Physical Therapy but due to financial situations I have had to change to Physical Therapy Assistant. I still plan to obtain my doctorate after I have worked as an assistant for a while, it just isn’t how I originally planned it. Looking at it now though, I’m not sure I could have stayed in college as long as it will take to obtain the doctorate. I simply want to start living my life sooner. You are right in that college isn’t everything and I’ve been learning that. Thank you for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post, Krista. I agree that if one works hard, it will pay off. Even when someone has the odds stacked against them, they can still overcome. My father never finished beyond the 8th grade and my mother eventually went back and got her GED. I am the only one to go to college in my family and I eventually finished my masters. It wasn’t easy, but I worked hard and overcame.

    I didn’t realize you are pursuing medicine. AWESOME! My husband is MD and he worked hard to get where he is. It isn’t easy, but you can do it! His motto “never give up”. In fact, the first time around in applying to medical schools he didn’t even get an interview!!!! But he didn’t let that stop him. He worked a little longer and then applied to MANY more schools and eventually got wait listed at the University of Michigan. He called them almost every day asking if a spot had opened up yet. And guess what, the squeaky wheel got the grease and he was accepted and graduated from there, as well as completed residency there. Never give up! Even if you graduate the bottom of your class, guess what they will call you….? “Doctor” 😊 wishing a
    You all the best!!!! 😍

    Liked by 2 people

    1. This is so motivating. You know I just realized that too. If you graduate at the bottom, you’re still a doctor. I’m definitely not giving up. Thank you so much for writing this out. I really appreciate it. πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‡

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yay, I am glad you found it encouraging!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ praying that your determination and motivation, along with God’s good grace, will see you through! πŸ™β€οΈπŸ˜

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

